Ad: Stakes: Predict Sports, Win NFTs - Stakes: Social Sports Game

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Will Anderson ends the regular season on top

 Chris Lee   in Football

Here's how we rank the 14-best defensive players in the SEC at the end of the regular season. 

1. Will Anderson, LB, Alabama: Leading the country in tackles for loss (30.5--that's eight ahead of the next guy!) and tied for the lead in sacks (14.5). 

2. Nakobe Dean, LB, Georgia: Pro Football Focus rates him as the league's Defensive Player of the Year. 

3. Sam Williams, edge, Ole Miss: He meant about as much to his team as any player in the league.

4. Jordan Davis, DL, Georgia: Per snap, may have been the league's most valuable player.

5. Roger McCreary, CB, Auburn: PFF's highest-graded corner in the country.

6. Josh Paschal, DL, Kentucky: Had 15.5 stops for loss and was durable.

7. Phidarian Mathis, DL, Alabama: Seems to consistently come up big at big moments.

8. Kingsley Enagbare, DL, South Carolina: Played out of the spotlight, but was one of the league's most consistent and durable defenders.

9. Lewis Cine, S, Georgia: Led the Bulldogs in defensive snaps and was PFF's second-highest-graded Georgia defender. 

10. Derion Kendrick, CB, Georgia: Joined McCreary as one of two corners on the All-PFF team. 

11. Jordan Battle, S, Alabama: One of the best coverage safeties in the nation.

12. Neil Farrell, DL, LSU: One of PFF's two highest-graded defensive linemen in the country; added 9.5 stops for loss.

13. Devonte Wyatt, DL, Georgia: Wyatt was the one PFF had ahead of Farrell, but Farrell was on the field a lot more; had 20 hurries.

14. Antonio Johnson, CB, Texas A&M: One of the country's highest-graded corners, though he played in the slot. 

NOTE: This list was brutally tough to put together, because the league's loaded on that side of the ball. A lot of great players including Texas A&M's DeMarvin Leal, Michael Clemons, Leon O'Neal and Tyree Johnson were left out, not to mention Georgia's Channing Tindall, Jalen Carter, Quay Walker and Nolan Smith, LSU's Damone Clark, Tennessee's Alontae Taylor, South Carolina's Jaylan Foster and Florida's Zach Carter.